Learn how NPL’s science and engineering expertise can support UK ventilator manufacturers

Gavin Sutton

Gavin Sutton

Senior Research Scientist

Dr Gavin Sutton has over 20 years’ experience in temperature measurement, using a broad range of thermometry techniques. In June 2006, he gained his Ph.D. in combustion physics from Cranfield University. 

In 2017, with co-authors, he was awarded the NPL Rayleigh Award, which recognises the most outstanding, landmark publication of the year. The paper recognised (DOI: 10.1098/rsta.2015.0048) reports the most accurate measurements of thermodynamic temperature ever made and was noted for the quality of writing, and the level of detail and analysis contained within.

Gavin specialises in temperature measurements in extreme environments, including laser diagnostics in flames and combustion temperature standards, acoustic thermometry, high-speed fibre-optic radiation thermometry and temperature measurement of explosive events.

Gavin is currently working on novel optical thermometry techniques capable of measuring surface temperatures remotely without prior knowledge of the surface emissivity. He is author or co-author of 55 peer reviewed papers.

Read about Gavin's main area of Temperature & Humidity research

Email Gavin Sutton


Estimates of the difference between thermodynamic temperature and the International Temperature Scale of 1990 in the range 118 K to 303 K