National Physical Laboratory

19-24 May 2019 : 89th IUVSTA Workshop 89th IUVSTA Workshop:
Biological and soft matter sample preparation for high resolution imaging by high vacuum techniques
19 – 24 May 2019, Hotel Belvedere, Zakopane, Poland

This workshop will bring together leading experts in the field of biological and soft matter studies to discuss sample preparation methods that preserve biological structure and molecular integrity for high-resolution imaging using high vacuum techniques.

NPL logo   NIBSC logo   Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen logo   ETH Zurich logo   European Commission logo

Topics and workshop format

The 89th IUVSTA workshop will bring together leading scientists in electron microscopy, secondary ion mass spectrometry, atom probe tomography, cryo-spectroscopy and related technologies to address important challenges in biological and soft matter sample preparations for high-resolution imaging by high vacuum techniques.

The workshop will include invited and contributed presentations to stimulate debate. This is a forum where experts share their views and engage in in-depth discussions to identify and solve current challenges and issues. Participation is limited to 60 delegates.

Invited speakers

  • Prof Andrew Ewing, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Dr Daniel E Perea, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Dr Gustav Sundell, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Prof Hua Tian, Penn State University, USA
  • Prof Hans Hertz, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Dr Katie Moore, University of Manchester, UK
  • Prof Mary L Kraft, University of Illinois, USA
  • Prof Paul Verkade, University of Bristol, UK
  • Prof Peter Sjövall, Chalmers University of Technology and SP Technical Research Institute, Sweden
  • Prof Pippa Hawes, Pirbright Institute, UK
  • Assistant Prof Siegfried Reipert, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Prof Sarah Shahmoradian, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland

Workshop organisation

The workshop is organised jointly by National Physical Laboratory (NPL, UK), the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NBISC, UK), Justus-Liebig University Gießen (Germany), the European Commission (Italy), and ETH Zurich (Switzerland).

Workshop organising committee

Chair:     Dr Paulina Rakowska, National Physical Laboratory, UK
Dr Kirsty MacLellan-Gibson, Biological Imaging, National Institute for Biological Standards and Control, UK
Co-chairs: Dr Anja Henß, Institute of Physical Chemistry Justus-Liebig University Gießen, Germany
Dr Giacomo Ceccone, European Commission, Italy, IUVSTA Biointerfaces Division Vice Chair
Dr Junting Zhang, National Physical Laboratory, UK
Dr Stephan Gerstl, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Advisory Committee: Prof Ian Gilmore (NPL), Prof Anouk Galtayries (ChimieParistech), Dr Miguel Manso (Universidad Autónomade Madrid), Dr Gregory L Fisher (Physical Electronics)



Please note that the information will not be divulged to third parties, or used without your permission