National Physical Laboratory

Graphene Conference 2012 15–16 October 2012
Graphene Conference: From Research to Applications

This two day conference addressed some of the new concepts of graphene electronics and progress in understanding technology, physics and metrology.

An impressive range of recent breakthroughs in understanding graphene properties has raised expectations for graphene to revolutionise technology by offering faster, smaller, lighter, more flexible electronic devices, with new functionalities. Commercial applications of graphene, ranging from transistors to touchscreen displays, are being pursued by a growing number of companies from start-ups to recognised technology leaders. Metrology has become one of the early adopters of this new revolutionary material and a key enabler of the progress from laboratory to industry.

This conference reviewed some of the new concepts of graphene electronics and progress in understanding graphene physics, technology and metrology.

Talks were given by key international experts from industry and academia, including members of ConceptGraphene. Participants also had the opportunity to visit various metrology laboratories at NPL.

View the conference agenda (including downloadable speaker abstracts and presentations)

Invited speakers

  • Prof Dr Klaus von Klitzing (Max-Planck-Institut FKFK, Germany)
  • Prof Vladimir I Falko (Lancaster University, UK)
  • Prof Rositza Yakimova (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Prof Thomas Seyller (University of Erlangen, Germany)
  • Prof Sergey Kubatkin (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Dr Irina Grigorieva (NOWNano DTC, University of Manchester, UK)
  • Prof Bart van Wees (Physics of Nano devices, University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Prof Jong Min Kim (Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, UK)
  • Dr Luigi Colombo (Texas Instruments Incorporated, Texas, USA)
  • Prof Andrea Ferrari (Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Dr Xavier Waintal (CEA, Grenoble, France)
  • Dr Tomas Löfwander (Chalmers Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Dr Christos Dimitrakopoulos (IBM Research Division, Thomas J Watson Research Centre, New York, USA)
  • Dr JT Janssen / Prof Alexander Tzalenchuk (National Physical Laboratory, UK)



Please note that the information will not be divulged to third parties, or used without your permission