National Physical Laboratory

NGMC logo 16–17 November 2016
Graphene & 2-D Materials Conference:
From Research to Applications

Following on from the highly successful NPL Graphene Conferences in 2012 and 2014, the Graphene & 2-D Materials Conference 2016 was aimed at addressing some of the new concepts of graphene applications, metrology and technology.

NPL hosted the Graphene & 2-D Materials Conference: From Research to Applications 2016 at its facilities in Teddington, UK. We had a full programme of interesting and exciting speakers, as well as lots of scheduled time for networking with industry and academic specialists from across the world.

Plenary Speaker

Professor Vladimir Falko, University of Manchester (read profile)

Planned Sessions:

  • Growth & Characterisation
  • Standardisation
  • 2-D Materials & Heterostructures
  • Sensors
  • Optoelectronics
  • High Frequency Devices
  • Composites
  • Energy

Invited Speakers included:

  • Professor Owen Guy, Univ of Swansea
  • Dr Angela Hight Walker, NIST, USA
  • Dr Stephan Hofmann, Univ of Cambridge
  • Dr Jun Lou, RICE University, USA
  • Dr Antonios Oikonomou, Eksagon Ltd
  • Professor Arben Merkoci, ICN2, Spain
  • Dr Vittorio Pellegrini, IIT, Italy
  • Dr Erlon Ferreira, INMETRO, Brazil
  • Dr Kari Hjelt, Graphene Flagship
  • Laurence Eaves, Univ of Nottingham
  • Dr Silvia Milana, Nature Publications
  • Dr Ulrich Starke, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung

Download Agenda Adobe Acrobat PDF file

Download Conference booklet with presentation and poster abstracts Adobe Acrobat PDF file

In addition, there was:

  1. An evening reception and conference dinner on Wednesday 16 November, surrounded by motoring history at Brooklands Museum, Weybridge
  2. Transport to the conference dinner by genuine London Routemaster double-decker buses
  3. Industry exhibitions, including the National Graphene Institute, the Cambridge Graphene Centre, the University of Surrey and industry representatives
  4. Poster exhibition, as well as student places (on application)

Meet the Team

Ling Hao   Alexander Tzalenchuk   Olga Kazakova   JT Janssen   Andrew Pollard

Ling Hao


Alexander Tzalenchuk


Olga Kazakova


JT Janssen


Andrew J Pollard


Please note that the information will not be divulged to third parties, or used without your permission