National Physical Laboratory

Capacitance Standards

Capacitance standards

NPL is able to measure a wide range of capacitance standards of around 80 different types of capacitors, from more than 20 leading manufacturers, over the range 0.001 pF to 10 mF.

Capacitance standards are measured using a range of coaxial AC bridges over a frequency range 20 Hz - 1MHz depending on the type.

More information on Capacitance Bridges & Standards

NPL has developed highly stable four terminal-pair capacitance standards of compact design of selected values between values between 50 pF and 1 μF available. Their stability derives from using a ceramic dielectric and by keeping the standards at constant temperature using a two-stage oven.


Customer Service tel: +44 20 8943 7166

Last Updated: 18 Aug 2015
Created: 21 May 2009


Please note that the information will not be divulged to third parties, or used without your permission